Revolutionizing the landscape of motorsport, the 24 Hours of Le Mans stands as an iconic event, celebrating a century of unmatched racing history. Nestled at the confluence of the Sarthe River and the Husine, the renowned Circuit de la Sarthe, hosted for the inaugural Grand Prix in 1906 with a unique blend of public roads.

In its infancy, the race spanned 12 hours, covering 12 laps. However, in a groundbreaking move after 17 years, George Durant, the head of the French Automobile Club, proposed a revolutionary shift – introducing night and day competition for whole 24 hours. This alteration, shifting the focus from lap times to overall racing distance, marked the inception of enduring reliability standards for cars, manufacturers, and drivers.

Post-World War II in 1948, the 24 Hours of Le Mans underwent a remarkable transformation, attracting a burgeoning audience and establishing itself as a must-attend spectacle. The golden era persisted until the tragic victory of Luigi Chinneti and Peter Mitchell-Thomson in 1955. The fatal crash of Mercedes prompted crucial safety measures for both spectators and drivers.

The 1960s and 1970s witnessed legendary rivalries between Ford, Ferrari, and Porsche, fueled by evolving regulations that sustained interest in the race. The competition intensified, inspiring Hollywood adaptations capturing the essence of this crown jewel of the racing season.
Endurance racing faced initial challenges, but the Ford GT40's triumphant 1966 victory paved the way for three consecutive wins in the subsequent years. The 1970s brought significant course modifications, particularly towards the track's conclusion, adding complexity and testing the skills of elite drivers, thereby enhancing the spectacle.

Ferrari faced a formidable challenger in the early 1970s, as the Porsche team unveiled a groundbreaking 5-liter concept with a feather-light chassis and proven aerodynamics, dominating tracks comprehensively.

The 24 Hours of Le Mans continues to be a testament to the evolution and resilience of motorsport.